This new Google mail feature is interesting and/or disturbing in many ways

I was getting ready to post an email to a group I’m part of, and was sidetracked by a popup that said I could send $20 to “Mary Green.”

  • A picture named moneyThroughGoogle.gif

Here’s why it’s interesting and/or disturbing

  • Google has become a bank. The transition is complete.
  • Isn’t this something like BitCoin?
  • They’re putting ads in my own email before I write it? How is that not spam?
  • Get me the fuck out of here.

Here’s why I’m freaking out

  • Lately Google has been taking liberties with my email far more than I ever gave them permission to. Yeah, I’m sure legally I did — or I’m sure they think I did.
  • They make messages disappear as I click on them in the iPad version of GMail. They filter important messages to new tabs they invented, without asking me. Now they’re invading a writing space with ads? What??
  • I like that they add features to GMail, but they’re really pushing us around, and it’s not cool.
About Dave Winer

Dave Winer, 54, pioneered the development of weblogs, syndication (RSS), podcasting, outlining, and web content management software; former contributing editor at Wired Magazine, research fellow at Harvard Law School, entrepreneur, and investor in web media companies. A native New Yorker, he received a Master's in Computer Science from the University of Wisconsin, a Bachelor's in Mathematics from Tulane University and currently lives in Berkeley, California.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

