Scripting News: Kindle UI problem solved.

See yesterday’s piece for background.

To get to the Home page, which was previously gotten to by clicking the Home icon in the upper-left corner, this is what you do:

  • Click on the three-horizonal-lines icon which is where the Home icon used to be. For some reason this is called a hamburger.
  • A menu drops down. The first item is called library. If you click on that you will get to the Home page.

Not too complicated, now that I know how it’s done.

When I was fumbling around I did click on the hamburger. As my eye skimmed it, I concluded it was for hopping around the current book. I didn’t study it carefully enough.

On the other hand, I had gone through my fumbling around with the Kindle app many months ago, and wasn’t prepared for something that had become second nature to require more fumbling. I still think they were wrong to pull the rug out from under me. They probably won’t make any less money, but I think they’re not friendly to their customers, something I think Amazon really goes out of their way, usually, to try to be.

About Dave Winer

Dave Winer, 54, pioneered the development of weblogs, syndication (RSS), podcasting, outlining, and web content management software; former contributing editor at Wired Magazine, research fellow at Harvard Law School, entrepreneur, and investor in web media companies. A native New Yorker, he received a Master's in Computer Science from the University of Wisconsin, a Bachelor's in Mathematics from Tulane University and currently lives in Berkeley, California.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

