Scripting News: Fortune cookie collage.

My friend Yvonne Burgess helped me move out of my house in Berkeley in 2010.

Moving is something I’m very bad at (even though I do it a lot), and something she’s very good at. I went back to Calif with about a week to pack up the house, give away a lot of my stuff, put the rest in storage, before turning it over to the new owners and returning to New York. I went there having no idea how I was going to do it. Yvonne saved my ass. It was an amazing experience.

One of the things I left behind was a drawer full of fortune cookies. Every time I ordered takeout, apparently, I saved the fortunes, in a special drawer in the kitchen. I have no memory of doing this. Yvonne did something beautifully creative with this collection, turning it into a collage, which she sent to me in NY in August of this year. Here’s a scan of it.

A picture named collage.jpg

Click on the image to see a full-size version of it on Flickr.

And here’s Yvonne’s blog post about the collage.

What an amazing thing to have a friend like this. 😉

PS: Yvonne is a programmer. So much for me remembering all the programmers I’ve ever worked with.

About Dave Winer

Dave Winer, 54, pioneered the development of weblogs, syndication (RSS), podcasting, outlining, and web content management software; former contributing editor at Wired Magazine, research fellow at Harvard Law School, entrepreneur, and investor in web media companies. A native New Yorker, he received a Master's in Computer Science from the University of Wisconsin, a Bachelor's in Mathematics from Tulane University and currently lives in Berkeley, California.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

