Devs: If you’re using the new static sites feature on S3 here’s something to watch for.

If you’re using the new static sites feature on S3 here’s something to watch out for.

I decided over the holidays to move scripting.com to a static site running on Amazon S3.

A picture named accordionGuy.gifIt went pretty well, though uploading a folder with a huge number of files is something that we don’t have good tools for with S3. But eventually I got it all up there, using a Firefox plug-in, called S3Fox Organizer. I had been using it for years, but forgot about it when I switched to Chrome last year. If you’re managing large static S3 sites it’s nice to have it around.

Then at the end, I had as a loose-end to do the same for http://www.scripting.com. I wanted to have it simply redirect to scripting.com from an S3 bucket. I thought this would be a simple matter, but it turned out to be impossible, leaving me in a tough bind that I’m still in.

The reason I can’t do it:

I haven’t tried to figure out who it is, but I probably should, and ask them nicely if they could give it up.

Right now I have a dynamic server running on EC2 doing the remap. But www.scripting.com gets a lot of traffic. It’s the primary name the site went by until I became a fan of shorter names. 🙂

About Dave Winer

Dave Winer, 54, pioneered the development of weblogs, syndication (RSS), podcasting, outlining, and web content management software; former contributing editor at Wired Magazine, research fellow at Harvard Law School, entrepreneur, and investor in web media companies. A native New Yorker, he received a Master's in Computer Science from the University of Wisconsin, a Bachelor's in Mathematics from Tulane University and currently lives in Berkeley, California.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

