My new Nexus 4 arrived. First thing, of course, was to take a picture.

This picture was taken with my Nexus 4 which arrived today.

  • A picture named nexus4.jpg
    • bold
    • true

Micro-SIM issue

  • The first task will be to visit a nearby T-Mobile store to see if I can swap my old big SIM for the smaller one that the Nexus 4 takes. It may be that it doesn’t take a T-Mobile SIM at all. I still am fuzzy on all this SIM stuff.
  • Here’s the problem with the SIM illustrated in a picture. The SIM that I have is far too big for the adapter they provide.
    • A picture named sim.jpg
  • And here’s the answer. It’s a matter of converting a full-size SIM to a micro-SIM. CNET has a tutorial that explains all the options, including DIY.
  • Update: The T-Mobile store on 8th Ave and 54th was able to fix it up in a few minutes. They were pretty impressed with my new phone. The guy said he was going to try to order one for himself later today. πŸ™‚

Dispatching pictures

  • The camera app seems to have a lot of features, but there doesn’t appear to be a way to send a photo directly from the camera app to email or Twitter or whatever. I seem to remember that Android could do this. It’s the first thing I look for.
  • Several people recommend using the Gallery, but the best answer for me, so far, is to swipe from right to left. The camera viewfinder is replaced with a browser of past pictures. From there you can dispatch them where ever you want.

Setting the wallpaper

  • It’s really frustrating to set the wallpaper. I have a full-size picture of the Mona Lisa, it makes a great background image for a cell phone. I use it on my iPad, my iPod and I want to use it on my Nexus 4.
  • But the wall-paper setting function in the Settings only lets me select a very small portion of the picture. Can’t figure out how to get it to zoom out. But when I display the picture in the Gallery app it works perfectly. And it works perfectly the first time on Apple’s devices.
  • A picture named wallpaperandroid.jpg
  • Update: I gave up and just used Google’s wallpaper-setter app. It’s confusing, but I’ve had it explained to me, and sort of understand. Turns out the Mona Lisa still looks good if you’re just looking at a corner of it. Amazing painting that way. πŸ™‚

Video player

  • A few days ago I wrote how I quit Netflix. Partly because Amazon appears to be offering the same service as part of Amazon Prime, and I’m already a member of that (and it costs less than Netflix and I get free shipping).
  • Then I got the Nexus 4. And found out to my surprise that Amazon Instant Video isn’t available for the Nexus 4. Too bad, because it’s a very nice little computer for watching movies. I watched Gangnan Style last night a few times and loved the video quality.
  • But I can play MP4 movies on the device. So it’s possible for some of my entertainment to be viewed there.
About Dave Winer

Dave Winer, 54, pioneered the development of weblogs, syndication (RSS), podcasting, outlining, and web content management software; former contributing editor at Wired Magazine, research fellow at Harvard Law School, entrepreneur, and investor in web media companies. A native New Yorker, he received a Master's in Computer Science from the University of Wisconsin, a Bachelor's in Mathematics from Tulane University and currently lives in Berkeley, California.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

